Press "Enter" to skip to content


Chennai City FC

Founded: 1946 (Nethaji Sports Club)
Ground: Jawaharlal Nehru Stadium, Coimbatore.
Capacity: 30,000
Owners: Rohit Ramesh, R Krishnakumar.
President: Rohit Ramesh
Coach: Akbar Nawas
League: I-League
2017–18: I-League 8th (10 teams)

    The latest football data here. Now gathering information from the data feed.

    The latest football data here. Now gathering information from the data feed.

    The latest football data here. Now gathering information from the data feed.

GKKabir Thaufiq
GKTenzin Samdup
GKDinesh J.
DEFTarif Akhand
DEFRoberto Eslava Suarez
DEFAjith Kumar
DEFShahbaz Alam
DEFClintu Cleetus
DEFPrem Kumar
Mashoor Shereef Thangalakath
MFEdwin Sydney Vanspaul
MFVijay Ponnurangam
MFGaurav Bora
MFSoundrapandiyan Rajapandi
MFPravitto Raju
MFKarthik Govindswamy
MFNestor Benitez
MFRomario Alexander
MFSandro Rodriguez Felipe
MFCharles Anandraj
MFRegin Michael
FWPedro Manzi Cruz


Chennai City FC are recent entrants in the I-League having secured direct entry in the 2016-17 season. They’ve finished eighth in the two seasons since then. Before the I-League, they spent their 67 years of existence participating in local, city and state tournaments.

Their side this season is without homegrown talent like Michael Soorairaj, Nanda Kumar, Pradeep Mohanraj and Sinivasan Pandiyan who have all been snapped up by Indian Super League clubs.

Chennai City have signed four Spanish players across the pitch to make up for the loss of local talent.

In pre-season, Chennai City played against ISL teams. They beat Bengaluru FC 2-1 and drew against FC Pune City.

The Gaffer

After finishing the 2017-18 season in eighth position, Chennai City replaced coach Soundarajan with Akbar Nawas. A Singaporean, Akbar Nawas was managing Global Cebu FC in the Philippines. Prior to that, he led Tampines Rovers FC to second place in the Singaporean League. Tampines Rovers also had a good run under his tutelage in the 2016 AFC Cup where they lost to eventual runners-up Bengaluru FC at the quarterfinal stage.

A proponent of attacking possession-based football, Akabar’s teams have always scored lots of goals. He usually plays in a 4-3-3 formation with wide forwards offered the licence to roam. It remains to be seen how well he acclimatizes to football culture and style in India and in getting the best out of his fledgling team.

What to Expect

Last season, Chennai City played better than what their league position suggests. Even though they lost key players, they strengthened across the pitch. Jordi Vila, the former assistant manager is mainly responsible for the Spanish contingent they signed and that should hold them in good stead. A new, young and attack-minded manager and the smart signings they made should help them make the top 6 comfortably.

%d bloggers like this: