Press "Enter" to skip to content

ISL 2020-21: Mumbai City FC complete historic double

ISL 2020-21 Champions Mumbai City FC
ISL 2020-21 Champions Mumbai City FC | Source: ISL Media

A 90th minute winner by Bipin Singh led Mumbai City FC to the ISL 2020-21 Championship and the “double” having finished as league winners a couple of weeks ago.

Today’s 2-1 win by the Islanders makes it three wins in three against ATK Mohun Bagan during this season. Having edged past ATKMB earlier in the season, they crucially won against ATK Mohun Bagan in the reverse league fixture to level points and pick up the ISL Winners’ Shield on superior H2H.

Indian Super League (ISL) Table

League Stage: All teams will play against each other twice. The team finishing first are the league winners.
Playoff Stage: The Top 4 qualify for the playoffs where P1 will play against P4 and P2 will play P3 in a double-legged tie. The winners of these playoff semis will play in the final to determine the ISL Championship winner.
1Jamshedpur FC (Q)20134343422121
2Hyderabad FC (Q)20115438432320
3ATK Mohun Bagan (Q)20107337372611
4Kerala Blasters FC (Q)2097434342410
5Mumbai City FC209473136315
6Bengaluru FC208572932275
7Odisha FC20659233143-12
8Chennaiyin FC205510201735-18
9FC Goa20479192935-6
10Northeast United FC203512142543-18
11SC East Bengal201811111836-18

All three goals in today’s final were the product of defensive errors. ATKMB took the lead in the 38th minute after Ahmed Jahouh gave away the ball at the edge of his area – David Williams promptly latched onto it and struck it through Mumbai custodian Amrinder’s hands. The equaliser for Mumbai was supplied by ATKMB defender Tiri who scored an own goal with a header a striker would be proud of. The winner came in the 90th minute after Mohun Bagan keeper Arindam went AWOL in and around the box – Bart Ogbeche put the ball in for Bipin Singh who smashed it home into an empty net.

YouTube player


  • Hero of the League: Roy Krishna (14 goals, 8 assists), ATK Mohun Bagan
  • Golden Boot: Igor Angulo (14 goals, 117.50 minutes per goal), FC Goa
  • Golden Glove: Arindam Bhattacharja (10 clean sheets, 19 goals conceded)
  • ISL Emerging Player of the League: Lalengmawia (Apuia)
  • Winning Pass of the League: Alberto Noguera (8 assists, 191.62 minutes per assist)

Be First to Comment

Leave a Reply

Indian Football: All Things Considered
%d bloggers like this: