Press "Enter" to skip to content

Mizoram Premier League 2019: Final

Mizoram Premier League 2019 Final
CHAMPIONS AGAIN! Aizawl FC players and staff celebrate winning the 2019 Mizoram Premier League. 
Photo Courtesy: @AizawlFC

Aizawl FC claimed their fourth Mizoram Premier League title after a 2-0 win over Electric Veng FC at the Rajiv Gandhi Stadium, Aizawl.

FULL TIME: Aizawl FC 2-0 Electric Veng FC
Aizawl FC: (Isal Vanlalruatfela 19′, Lalremsanga 62′)

In the end, there was to be no denying Aizawl FC, no excruciating stress to endure as Electric Veng could not repel the barrage whipped up by the I-League team at the Rajiv Gandhi Stadium.

Any nerve that existed among Stanley Rozario’s men were dispelled within 20 minutes. Everything thereafter was a celebration of the champions’ excellence in the competition which kicked off in the first week of September.

Isak Vanlalruatfela scored the opener in the 19th minute. William Lalnunfela’s cut back from the right found an unmarked Isak in the penalty area. With enough time and space to take a touch and pick his spot, the striker found the back of the net easily. 

There was an air of inevitability about so much that followed, with Electric Veng never likely to withstand the onslaught that ensued. The Electric Veng defense may have done well to smother the fast-paced movement of the Aizawl forwards in what remained of the first half.

If there was anxiety to endure thereafter, it was mainly born of Aizawl’s pursuit of the game-killing goal for a more resounding win than mere narrow success.

Lalremsanga provided that sense of relief. Gathering the ball in the penalty area, he shrugged off the defenders before cutting back into his left foot to fire in the goal and leave the goalkeeper crumpled on the turf.

After 62 minutes, Rozario acknowledged the title had in effect been won.

Mizoram Premier League 2019 Final
Aizawl FC’s Lalremsanga scores the second goal in the Mizoram Premier League final.
Photo Courtesy: Mizoram Premier League

Champions Dominant 

The champions scored 41 goals and conceded only 13 in the process. Losing only one match in 17 matches – an incredible 6-5 result at the hands of Mizoram Police FC.  

The Police team posed the only credible threat to Aizawl in the entirity of the competition. Unfortunately, Mizoram Police FC had to withdraw from the semifinals, owing to their participation in the BN Mullick Memorial All India Police Football tournament.

With due credit to Electric Veng, the east Aizawl club overcame their challenge over their neighbors Chhinga Veng in the semifinal.  However, Aizawl FC was a different beast this season.

In the end, 2-0 was the fair result for Aizawl FC to lift their fourth MPL trophy and their second in as many years.  

Mizoram Premier League 2019 Final
Aizawl FC’s Lalremruata, Richard Kassaga, Isak Vanlalruatfela, and Alfred Jayran pose with the individual awards presented after the Mizoram Premier League finals.
Photo Courtesy: @AizawlFC

Prizes Galore for the Champions

The champions won a prize money of Rs 6 lakhs, while Electric Veng FC were awarded Rs 3.3 lakhs. 

The individual prizes was swept aside by the Aizawl team.

Best Goal Keeper: Lalremruata

Best Defender: Richard Kassaga

Best Midfielder: Alfred Jayran

Best Forward: Isak Vanlalruatfela 

Best Player: Alfred Jayran

MC Malsawmzuala won the award for top scorer with 12 goals for Chhinga Veng FC, while Chawnpui FC won the Fairplay Award.

Be First to Comment

Leave a Reply

Indian Football: All Things Considered
%d bloggers like this: