Press "Enter" to skip to content

28-man squad announced for AFC Asian Cup 2019

AFC Asian Cup

A 28-man squad has been announced by Head Coach Stephen Constantine as the team heads out to Abu Dhabi to play a couple of friendlies before the AFC Asian Cup commences in January.

The squad has been trimmed down to 28 members from the initial 34-man probable squad selected for the training camp.

The omissions from the initial squad are Bikash Jairu, Sahal Abdul Samad, Komal Thatal, Nikhil Poojari, Jerry Lalrinzuala and Nishu Kumar who is out with an injury.

It’s probable the squad will be further trimmed out to a 23-man squad before the tournament starts.

The 28-member squad is listed below:

Forwards: Sunil Chhetri, Jeje Lalpekhlua, Balwant Singh, Manvir Singh, Farukh Choudhary, Sumeet Passi.

Midfielders: Udanta Singh, Jackichand Singh, Pronay Halder, Vinit Rai, Rowllin Borges, Anirudh Thapa, German P Singh, Ashique Kuruniyan, Halicharan Narzary, Lallianzuala Chhangte.

Defenders: Pritam Kotal, Lalruatthara, Sandesh Jhingan, Anas Edathodika, Salam Ranjan Singh, Sarthak Golui, Subhasish Bose, Narayan Das.

Goalkeepers: Gurpreet Singh Sandhu, Amrinder Singh, Arindam Bhattacharya, Vishal Kaith.

One Comment

Leave a Reply

Indian Football: All Things Considered
%d bloggers like this: