Press "Enter" to skip to content

CoA appointed by SC to run AIFF meets FIFA-AFC delegation

CoA appointed by SC to run AIFF meets FIFA-AFC delegation
Source: AIFF Media

The Committee of Administrators appointed by the Honourable Supreme Court comprising of Justice Anil Dave (Former Judge, Supreme Court of India), Dr. SY Qureshi (Former Chief Election Commissioner, India), and Mr. Bhaskar Ganguly (Former Indian Football Team Captain) had a constructive and cordial meeting with the joint team of the FIFA and Asian Football Confederation in New Delhi today (June 21, 2022), wherein everyone discussed working forward together for the cause of Indian Football.

The joint FIFA and AFC team is being represented by AFC General Secretary Datuk Seri Windsor John, AFC Deputy General Secretary of Member Association Division Mr. Vahid Kardany, along with three members from FIFA – Mr. Kenny Jean Marie, Mr. Nodar Akhalkatsi, and Mr. Prince Rufus, FIFA RDO. Mr. Purushottam Kattel, and Mr. Yogesh Desai are the other members of the joint team.

AIFF Media

Earlier this week, the CoA appointed a 12-member advisory committee to assist them in running day-to-day operations of the AIFF. Minerva Academy owner Ranjit Bajaj has been nominated as the Chairman of the Advisory Committee.

CoA 12-member Advisory Committee

However, according to a TOI report, the advisory committee was disbanded before the FIFA-AFC delegation reached the football house. Apparently, the FIFA-AFC delegation was unhappy with the newly-created body as it went against FIFA statutes that don’t allow external interference. Besides, as the AIFF has its own set of employees and experts, the CoA decided to consult them instead and revoked its decision to create an advisory body.

One Comment

Leave a Reply

Indian Football: All Things Considered
%d bloggers like this: