Press "Enter" to skip to content

38-member probables for International Friendlies in Bahrain announced; Sunil Chhetri misses out

Rahul Bheke and Sunil Chhetri
Rahul Bheke and Sunil Chhetri | Source: AIFF Media

Close on the heels of the announcement of the 38-member list of probables for the forthcoming back to back International Friendlies against Bahrain and Belarus, the Blue Tigers suffered a major setback with talismanic captain Sunil Chhetri being ruled out for the two matches.

“I was really looking forward to the two friendlies against Baharain and Belarus and it’s a shame I’ll be missing out. It’s been a long, tough season and I’ve suffered a few small injuries that need time to heal. I will be doing all I can to recover in time for the preparatory camp in May,” Sunil mentioned the

“The potential this squad possesses is immense, and a lot of the lads are riding high on confidence on the back of good performances in the League season. I’m certain we’ll put out best foot forward. I’m wishing the team all the luck,” he averred.

In addition, Ashique Kuruniyan will also not be joining the preparatory camp as he is under rehab.

The players along with the Head Coach and the staff assemble in Pune on March 10, for the camp with practice starting from next day onwards. The players whose clubs would be playing in the semi-finals of the ongoing Hero Indian Super League will be joining the camp as and when their club commitments end.

The contingent will be flying to Bahrain on March 21. The Blue Tigers are scheduled to play Bahrain on March 23, and Belarus on March 26, with both matches kicking-off at IST 9.30pm.

AIFF Media

The original list of 38 probables is as follows:

GOALKEEPERS: Gurpreet Singh Sandhu, Amrinder Singh, Dheeraj Singh, Prabhshukhan Gill, Mohammad Nawaz.

DEFENDERS: Pritam Kotal, Ashutosh Mehta, Seriton Fernandes, Ashish Rai, Rahul Bheke, Sandesh Jhingan, Deepak Tangri, Narender Gahlot, Chinglensana Singh, Subhashish Bose, Akash Mishra, Mandar Rao Dessai, Roshan Singh.

MIDFIELDERS: Udanta Singh, Vikram Partap Singh, Anirudh Thapa, Pronay Halder, Jeakson Singh, Glan Martins, Brandon Fernandes, VP Suhair, Lalengmawia, Sahal Abdul Samad, Yasir Mohammad, Ashique Kuruniyan (Anwar Ali Jr), Aniket Jadav, Lallianzuala Chhangte, Bipin Singh, Jerry Mawihmingthanga.

FORWARDS: Manvir Singh, Liston Colaco, Sunil Chhetri (Danish Farooq), Rahim Ali.

Nikhil Poojary, Hormipam Ruivah and Laldinliana Renthlei have been called up for the Indian National Team preparatory camp.

Be First to Comment

Leave a Reply

Indian Football: All Things Considered
%d bloggers like this: