Press "Enter" to skip to content

Odisha Women’s League 2022, Weekly Roundup [Feb 12- Feb 16]

Pyari Xaxa in action at the Odisha women's League 2022 Week 1
Pyari Xaxa in action at the Odisha women’s League 2022 | Source: FA Odisha

This year’s edition of the Odisha Women’s League kicked-off on 12th February with the two inaugural games held at Bhubaneswar.

The six participating teams are East Coast Railway, Odisha Police, OGP Club, Rising Student’s Club, SAI-STC and Sports Odisha. Also, at the end of the tournament, Odisha’s U-18 team will play practice games with five of these clubs.

GAME DAY 1 (12th February 2022)

Game 1: Odisha Police Vs. Sports Odisha

Venue: Kalinga Stadium, Bhubaneswar

Full-Time: Odisha Police 5-0 Sports Odisha

Odisha Police, who finished fifth on the table last year, started this year with an electric performance by winning the game 5-0 against Sports Odisha. Indian National Team forward Pyari Xaxa bagged a hat-trick and Jabamani Tudu scored two goals for the team.

Game 2: East Coast Railway Vs. OGP Club

Venue: Capital Ground, Bhubaneswar

Full-Time: East Coast Railway 5-0 OGP Club

Last year’s runners-up E. Co. Railway won the game by 5-0 with Lahari Mangaraj scoring two goals, and Purnima Rao, Tara Khaton and Captain/Indian National Team defender Manisa Panna with one goal each.

GAME DAY 2 (14th February 2022)

Game 3: Sports Odisha Vs. Rising Student’s Club

Venue: Kalinga Stadium, Bhubaneswar

Full-Time: Sports Odisha 4-1 Rising Student’s Club

Sports Odisha, who finished fourth in the table last season, played some dominating football in their second game after being beaten by Odisha Police in their first. They got a 4-1 win over the defending champions Rising Student’s Club.

Although Amrita Naik scored a goal for the Rising Students, the efforts weren’t enough to overcome Subhasmita Subhadarshini Das’s hat-trick and a goal by Manisha Naik for Sports Odisha.

Game 4: Odisha Police Vs. SAI–STC

Venue: Capital Ground, Bhubaneswar

Full-Time: Odisha Police 8-0 SAI-STC

There seems to be no stopping Odisha Police this season. They netted eight goals against SAI-STC, who finished at the bottom last season.

The goal scorers were Satyabati Khadia and Jabamani Tudu with two goals each, and Jasoda Munda, Pyari Xaxa, Monica Minz, Jasmani Samad scored one goal each for Odisha Police.

GAME DAY 3 (16th February 2022)


Venue: Kalinga Stadium, Bhubaneswar

Full-Time: SAI-STC 1-0 OGP CLUB

While both the teams had an end-to-end game, SAI-STP defeated OGP with a 76th-minute goal by Deepa Nayak.

Game 6: E.Co.Railway Vs. Rising Student Club

Venue: Capital Ground, Bhubaneswar

Full-Time: E.Co.Railway 3-2 Rising Student Club

After a poor start to the tournament, Rising Student’s club tried their best till the end of the game to get a point, but with an early stunner by Lahari Mangaraj followed by one goal each by Lochana Munda and Tara Khaton, E. Co. Railway got a win over them.

The goal scorers for Rising Students were Premshila Lugun and Ashrita Kangadi.

After the end of the first week of OWL, here are the league standings:

1Odisha Police2200613013
2E.Co Railway22006826
3Sports Odisha2101346-2
4Rising Student’s Club2002037-4
5OGP Club2002006-6

Be First to Comment

Leave a Reply

Indian Football: All Things Considered
%d bloggers like this: