Press "Enter" to skip to content

Indian Women’s National Team camp to be held in Jharkhand from August 16; Probables announced

Indian Women's National Team camp to be held in Jharkhand from August 16; Probables announced
Indian Women’s NT | Source: AIFF Media

AIFF Media Team

NEW DELHI: The state of Jharkhand is renowned for its rich sporting culture and heritage — having produced a number of champion athletes over the years who have made the nation proud on the global stage.

As Indian Football moves forward together, Jharkhand adds another feather to its cap as they are to host the Indian Women’s National Team camp in Jamshedpur from August 16, 2021 for preparation for the AFC Women’s Cup India 2022 – the flagship continental championship.

This cooperation from the Jharkhand State Government and their unprecedented support for women’s football and Indian Football overall will go a long way in India’s preparation for the Asian Cup which is scheduled to be held in India from January 20-February 6, 2022.

2022, in fact, will be a huge year for Women’s Football in India as India are also to play host to the FIFA U17 Women’s World Cup from October 2022 onwards.

Having taken charge of the Senior Women’s Team, Head Coach Thomas Dennerby has named a list of 30 probables who will be camping in Jamshedpur. A decorated coach with over three decades of experience behind him, Dennerby has previously guided Sweden’s Women’s National team to a 3rd-place finish in the FIFA World Cup in 2011, and a quarter-final spot in the 2012 London Olympics.

He also served as the Head Coach of the Nigerian Women’s National team wherein he coached the Super Falcons to the 2019 FIFA Women’s World Cup. He also helped the Nigerian women to win the AWCON Award 2018, and was awarded the 2018 Coach of the Year in Nigeria.

In addition to the 30 players named by Dennerby, Bala Devi who is currently under rehab will be joining the camp to assess her medical condition, while Dalima Chibber will be training for the first 10 days after which she will be returning to play League football in Canada as per her prior commitment.

The 30-player list is as follows:

GOALKEEPERS: Aditi Chauhan, Sowmiya Narayanasamy, M Linthoingambi Devi, Shreya Hooda

DEFENDERS: Jabamani Tudu, Ashalata Devi, Sweety Devi, Hemam Shilky Devi, Michel Castanha, Ritu Rani, Ranjana Chanu Sorokhaibam, W Linthoingambi Devi, Kritina Devi Thounaojam, Anju Tamang, Asem Roja Devi

MIDFIELDERS: Indumathi Kathiresan, Sangita Basfore, Martina Thokchom, Dangmei Grace, Soumya Guguloth, Sumithra Kamaraj, Mariyammal Balamurugan, Sanju, Manisha.

FORWARDS: Renu, Karishma Shirvoikar, Sandhiya Ranganathan, Sumati Kumari, Daya Devi, Pyari Xaxa.

This article was originally published on AIFF’s website.

Be First to Comment

Leave a Reply

Indian Football: All Things Considered
%d bloggers like this: