Press "Enter" to skip to content

AFC U-16 Championship 2020: India pitted alongside Australia, South Korea and Uzbekistan in Group C

Picture Credit: AFC Media

For the AFC U-16 Championship 2020 scheduled to be held in Bahrain between 25th November 2020 and December 12 2020 (to be confirmed), India have been placed in Group C alongside Australia, South Korea and Uzbekistan.

The teams in each group are as follows:

  • Group A: Bahrain, DRP Korea, Islamic Republic of Iran, Qatar
  • Group B: Tajikistan, Oman, Yemen, UAE
  • Group C: Korea Republic, Australia, India, Uzbekistan
  • Group D: Japan, Indonesia, Saudi Arabia, China PR

India qualified for the AFC U-16 Championship 2020 Finals after finishing top of their group in the qualifiers. The others teams in the qualifying group were Uzbekistan, Turkmenistan and Bahrain. This is the third consecutive time India have qualified for the U-16 Championship Finals and ninth overall.

In the previous edition of the AFC U-16 Championship held in 2018, Japan emerged winners while India lost out in the quarterfinals against South Korea 0-1.

Indian U-16 Football Team in 2018
Indian U-16 Team in 2018; Picture Credit: AIFF Media

The top four teams from the AFC U-16 Championship 2020 will qualify for the FIFA U-17 World Cup Peru 2021.

The tournament format is straightforward – top two teams from each group will advance into the quarterfinals. Players born after January 1st 2004 are eligible and each team can register a maximum of 23 players out of which three have to be goalkeepers. This will be the last edition of the tournament at the U-16 level with AFC resolving to change the age bracket to U-17 from the next edition.

Be First to Comment

Leave a Reply

Indian Football: All Things Considered
%d bloggers like this: