Press "Enter" to skip to content

Indian Women’s League (IWL) to start on January 24th

Indian Women's League (IWL) to start on January 24th
Defending Champions Sethu FC

The fourth edition of the Hero Indian Women’s League will commence on the 24th of January at the Bangalore Football Stadium in the city of Bangalore. 

11 of the 12 teams who made it to the final round have been split into two groups – Group A and Group B. Last season’s champions Sethu FC are in Group A while the 6th team in Group B will be picked from the winner of the Rest of India (ROI) two-legged fixture between Gokulam Kerala FC and FC Alakhpura. The matches for the qualifier will be held on January 19th and 22nd.

Group A: Baroda FA, BBK DAV FC (Punjab), FC Kolhapur City, Kickstart FC (Karnataka), KRYPHSA FC (Manipur), Sethu FC (Tamil Nadu).

Group B: Bangalore United FC, Bidesh XI SC (Goa), East Coast Railway (Odisha), Kenkre FC (Maharashtra), ROI Team (Winner: Gokulam Kerala FC vs FC Alakhpura), SSB Women FC (West Bengal).

The opening match will be played between KRYPHSA FC and Kickstart FC at 12PM on January 24th followed by FC Kolhapur taking on defending champions Sethu FC at 3PM. The top two teams from each group go into a semi-final followed by the final which will be played on the 14th of February.

Click here to take a look at the fixture list. Please note the schedule of the league is tentative and subject to change.

Here’s a brief read up on the teams competing this season.

Be First to Comment

Leave a Reply

Indian Football: All Things Considered
%d bloggers like this: