Press "Enter" to skip to content

CFL 2019: Calcutta Premier Division A Roundup: Week 4

CFL 2019: Calcutta Premier Division A Roundup: Week 4
The Mariners corner: Mohun Bagan AC supporters at the Kolkata Derby
in the Calcutta Premier Division A match at the Yuva Bharati Krirangan Stadium.
Photo Courtesy: Indian Express

After registering their first wins, East Bengal and Mohun Bagan played out a 0-0 draw in the Kolkata derby in the Calcutta Premier Division A match.

Meanwhile, Bhowanipore Club and George Telegraph occupy the top two positions in the league table despite suffering their first losses of the campaign.

Stalemate in Kolkata derby

East Bengal FC and Mohun Bagan AC played out a goalless draw in the Kolkata derby at the Salt Lake Stadium.

Mohun Bagan dominated the match with Joseba Beitia leading the attack. However, V P Suhair wasted some opportunities to seize the initiative for the Mariners. Mohun Bagan could have won the match in stoppage time when Beitia set up Alexander Romario with a curling cross, but the latter failed to find the back of the net.

The defending champions are eighth position with five points, whereas East Bengal are fourth with seven points.

CFL 2019: Mohun Bagan vs East Bengal
Decked in Red & Gold: East Bengal supporters at the Kolkata Derby
in the Calcutta Premier Division A match at the Yuva Bharati Krirangan Stadium.
Photo Courtesy: Indian Express

East Bengal register easy wins

East Bengal had won two matches in a row to register their first points in the Calcutta Premier Division A.

The first match against BSS Sporting Club, Jaime Santos Colado opened the scoring in the 18th minute after finishing the move he started. East Bengal continued to attack and doubled the lead in the 52nd minute.

Bidyasagar Singh capitalized on a defensive mistake and doubled the lead. BSS pulled one back in the dying moments of the match from a penalty. Kamalpreet Singh handled the ball inside the box and William Opoku stepped up to make it 2-1, however, it was only a consolation.

Later in the week, East beat Aryan Club 3-0 at the East Bengal Grounds. Lalrindika Ralte finished Brandon’s pass from the right to put his team ahead in the 41st minute.

At the hour’s mark, Colado finished a wonderful move to make it 2-0. The Spaniard made it 3-0 in the 88th minute after finishing off a pass from Ronaldo Oliveira.

Mohun Bagan made to sweat by BSS

Mohun Bagan registered their first win of the campaign with a 2-1 win over BSS Sporting Club at Kalyani Stadium. The Mariners could have gone ahead within five minutes when they were awarded a penalty. Fran Gonzalez stepped up and hit the post from the spot-kick.

After the half-hour mark, Salva Chamorro headed in a cross from Nongdomba Naorem to give Mohun Bagan the lead. BSS equalized the very next minute through William Opoku. 

Mohun Bagan regained the lead in the 47th minute when youngster Naorem put his team in front to pick up its first win of the tournament.  

CFL Premier Division Table

26 teams have been split into two groups. After a single leg round robin, the top three teams from each group will enter the Super Six which will be the championship round.
1Mohammedan SC17142144461135
2East Bengal FC1410313340931
3Diamond Harbour FC1410223229722
4Bhawanipore FC1383227241014
5Kidderpore SC15816251729-12
6Mohun Bagan1373324301515
1Diamond Harbour FC129212926521
2Mohammedan SC129212933924
3Mohun Bagan1273224301317
4Kalighat Milan Sangha FC127322421813
5Army Red125612118117
6Peerless SC125522022913
7United Sports Club126151925817
8Southern Samity12435151417-3
9Tollygunge Agragami122288928-19
10Pathachakra FC1214771328-15
11Calcutta FC121477838-30
12Food Corporation of India121386832-24
13Dalhousie AC120484829-21
1East Bengal FC129303029623
2Bhawanipore FC128312723815
3Kidderpore SC128132516115
4Aryan Club1280424281216
5Calcutta Customs126151913130
6ASOS Rainbow AC125251711101
7Wari AC12516161623-7
8Railway FC12336121221-9
9BSS Sporting Club12255111214-2
10George Telegraph SC12327111119-8
11Eastern Railway FC12327111626-10
12Police AC12318101022-12
13West Bengal Police1222881224-12

Arthur Koassi stars in Mohammedan win

Mohammedan Sporting Club ended a three-match winless streak in the Calcutta Premier Division A with a 2-1 win over George Telegraph at the Mohammedan Sporting Ground.

After a barren first-half, three goals were scored in a 10-minute spell. Arthur Koassi headed in a Vanlalbiaa cross in the 63rd minute to give Mohammedan the lead. Four minutes later, the referee awarded the home team a penalty. Koassi stepped up and doubled the lead. Five minutes later, Echezona Anyichie headed in a corner to reduce the deficit for George Telegraph

George Telegraph showing great determination in their pursuit of an equalizer, while Mohammedan SC remained solid at the back to hold on to their first win and climb up the table with six points from four matches.

Earlier in the week, Mohammedan played out a 0-0 match against Rainbow AC at the Mohammedan Sporting Ground.

Peerless, Rainbow AC, BSS post wins

Peerless SC beat Kalighat Milan Sangha 4-1 at the Barasat Stadium. Ansumana Kromah scored a hattrick and Edmond Peprah scored the other. Alexander Kouame scored the consolation for Kalighat MS. The win takes Peerless to third place with seven points, while Kalighat MS are in 10th place with four points.

Over at the Gayeshpur Stadium, Rainbow AC beat Aryan Club by a first-half goal through Avijit Sarkar. The win takes Rainbow AC to sixth place, with six points from five points, while Aryan Club is in ninth place with five points from six matches.

At the Barasat Stadium, newcomers BSS Sporting Club registered their first win in the campaign with a 1-0 win over Bhawanipore Club. William Opuku scoring the solitary goal in the 70th minute to take BSS to seventh place with five points.

Despite their first loss of the campaign, Bhawanipore Club retain their position at the top the table with 10 points from five matches.

Be First to Comment

Leave a Reply

Indian Football: All Things Considered
%d bloggers like this: