Press "Enter" to skip to content

Indian Women’s Team for COTIF Cup 2019 announced

Indian Women's Team for the COTIF Cup 2019 announced
Picture Credit: AIFF Media

Indian women’s team for the COTIF Cup 2019 scheduled to be held later in the month in Spain has been announced by the AIFF.

The squad marks a return of star striker Ngangom Bala Devi who was the highest scorer in the Indian Women’s League 2019 with an astonishing 26 goals coming in seven games.

Bala Devi alongside six other Manipuri players had boycotted the team citing differences with the coaching staff.

Rather surprisingly, Dalima Chhibber, Indumathi Kathiresan and Sandhiya Ranganathan have not been included in the squad. Sources indicate the three have pulled out of the tournament citing personal reasons.

The AIFF Women’s Footballer of the Year, Ashalata Devi, and the AIFF Emerging Footballer of the Year Dangmei Grace are both part of the squad.

India has jumped up six places in the latest FIFA rankings and are now 57th in the world.

Here’s the full squad:

GOALKEEPERS: Linthoi Devi, Aditi Chauhan, Sowmiya Narayansamy

DEFENDERS: Ashalata Devi, Sweety Devi, Jabamani Tudu, Michel Castanha, Papki Devi, Samiksha.

MIDFIELDERS: Sangita Basfore, Sanju Yadav, Ranjana Chanu, Manisha, Ritu Rani, Ratanbala Devi.

FORWARDS: Anju Tamang, Bala Devi, Dangmei Grace, Anushka Samuel, Renu, Daya Devi, Roja Devi.

Be First to Comment

Leave a Reply

Indian Football: All Things Considered
%d bloggers like this: