Press "Enter" to skip to content

Indian Women’s League 2018-19 to commence on May 5th

Indian International Dalima Chhibber signed a contract with Gokulam Kerala FC this season.
Photo Credit: Gokulam Kerala FC

The third edition of the Indian Women’s League will kick off on May 5th in Ludhiana, Punjab.

14 teams are participating in this season’s IWL and they have been split into two groups. The teams will play each other once in the group stage and the top two teams from each group qualify for the semi-final – followed by the final.

All the matches will be played at the Guru Nanak Stadium and the scheduled kick off times are 8am, 11am and 3.30pm.

The defending champions Odisha-based Rising Student’s Club are in Group A.

Group AGroup B
Central SSB Women Football TeamBangalore United FC
FC AlakhpuraBaroda Football Academy
Gokulam Kerala FCCRPF Women’s Football Team
Hans Women FCFC Kolhapur City
Panjim FootballersManipur Police SC
Rising Student’s ClubSAI-STC Cuttack
Tripura Sports SchoolSethu FC

The opening match on May 5th will be between Rising Student’s Club and Gokulam Kerala FC at eight o’clock in the morning. After the group fixtures end on May 18, the semi-finals will be played on May 20th and the final will be held on May 22nd.

Gokulam Kerala have made some important signings this season. Alongside Dalima Chhibber, they’ve signed the impressive Sanju Yadav, the goalkeeper Anjana, and Poli Koley from Madurai-based Sethu FC. They’ve also onboarded Kerala state players Athulya and Reshma.

Follow @WomensFootieIND on Twitter for updates.

Be First to Comment

Leave a Reply

Indian Football: All Things Considered
%d bloggers like this: