Press "Enter" to skip to content

India’s campaign in the SAFF Women’s Championship 2019 begins today

SAFF Women's Championship 2019

The Indian Women’s National Team will take on Maldives at the Sahid Rangsala stadium in Biratnagar, Nepal, in their opening match of the SAFF Women’s Cup. The game will kick off at 3.15 PM IST and will be streamed live on mycujoo.

The Indian team go into the competition as tournament favourites. They have won every single edition of the Cup since it’s inception in 2010.

The 2019 SAFF Women’s Championship being held in Nepal is the fifth edition of the tournament and has six participating teams split into two groups. Group A consists of Nepal, Bhutan and Bangladesh; India, Maldives and Sri Lanka form Group B.

The Women’s NT has played in quite a few international games in the lead up to the tournament. They played friendly matches in Hong Kong and Indonesia, competed in the Hero Gold Cup and participated in the recently concluded Turkish Women’s Cup where they finished sixth.

Unbeaten Streak

India has never lost a game at the SAFF Women’s Championship and their unbeaten run stretches upto 19 games.

After today’s match against Maldives, India will next take on Sri Lanka on the 17th of March in their second Group B encounter. The top two teams from each group will play in semi-finals which will be held on March 20th and the final will be played on the 22nd.

The Indian players and staff were full of confidence ahead of the tie.

The tournament is ours for the taking, and we need to get off to the best possible start.

Dangmei Grace, winger, Indian Women’s NT

As a team, we have to make sure that we seize the initiative early in matches. We have worked on keeping our defensive shape, and we will go hard right from the kick-off.

Maymol Rocky, Head Coach, Indian Women’s NT.

The spirit in the team is high and given that we are the defending champions, teams will be wary of us. We have to go out all guns blazing and are confident that we can go all the way.”

Ashalata Devi, Captain, Indian Women’s NT

The Indian squad for the 2019 SAFF Women’s Championship:

GOALKEEPERS: Linthoingambi Devi, Aditi Chauhan, Sowmiya Narayanasamy.

DEFENDERS: Jabamani Tudu, Sweety Devi, Ashalata Devi, Dalima Chhibber, Michel Castanha, Lako Bhutia.

MIDFIELDERS: Ranjana Chanu, Dangmei Grace, Sanju Yadav, Ratanbala Devi, Sumithra Kamaraj, Sangita Basfore, Indumathi Kathiresan.

FORWARDS: Anju Tamang, Roja Devi, Manisha, Sandhiya Ranganathan.

Be First to Comment

Leave a Reply

Indian Football: All Things Considered
%d bloggers like this: