Press "Enter" to skip to content

Bengaluru FC B are BDFA Super Division Champions

Bengaluru FC B
A pileup was in order after Myron Mendes sent the keeper the wrong way
to score from the penalty spot. Picture Courtesy: Bengaluru FC Media.

The Bengaluru FC Reserves team (Bengaluru FC ‘B’) clinched the BDFA Super Division title after picking up a win over Army Service Corps (ASC) on Thursday at the Bangalore Football Stadium.

The Blue Colts won the championship with a game to spare after the captain Myron Mendes converted a penalty in the 88th minute as the Blues beat ASC 1-0 in a game they dominated from start to finish.

BDFA Super Division League Table

1Bengaluru FC B1210113543131
2Ozone FC107031651121
3South United9522148617
4Kickstart FC105231813517
6FC Bengaluru United 9351169714
8Bangalore Independents 833289-112
9Student Union103251530-1511
10Bangalore Dream Utd.92251015-58
11Bangalore Eagles9216820-127
13Jawahar Union8035312-93

The victory under the guidance of coach Naushad Moosa comes close on the heels of the Colts winning the Puttaiah Memorial Cup in October this year.

Naushad Moosa was exuberant after the win and had this to say about his proteges:

“If you see the way these boys were playing, you know that they deserved to win. As we started the league after the Puttaiah Cup, the boys promised the management that they will give them the league because they’ve not won it in five years. The boys worked really hard and won it.”

Bengaluru FC B will participate next in the upcoming Second Division League scheduled to kickoff next month.

A round of congratulations were in order from senior players at Bengaluru FC who are leading the table in the Indian Super League.

One Comment

Leave a Reply

Indian Football: All Things Considered
%d bloggers like this: