Press "Enter" to skip to content

CFL 2019: Calcutta Premier Division A Roundup: Week 7

CFL 2019: Calcutta Premier Division A Roundup: Week 7
Arthur writes his own script: Arthur Kouassi (#10) scores late in injury time to give Mohammedan SC over a crucial win over BSS Sporting Club in the Calcutta Premier Division A league match.
Photo Courtesy: Mohammedan SC

One point. A solitary point separates the top six in the Calcutta Premier Division ‘A’ League

The top four are locked on 14 points. Peerless SC leads the table courtesy a goal difference (GD) of +10. They are followed by Bhawanipore FC (+7 GD), East Bengal (+5 GD), and Mohun Bagan (+4 GD). 

Mohammedan SC and George Telegraph are locked in fifth and sixth on 13 points and a GD of +1 for both clubs.

Peerless sneak in a point past Customs

A late penalty by Ansumana Kromah secured a vital point for Peerless SC against Calcutta Customs in the Calcutta Premier Division League. 

Peerless entered the Barasat Stadium as the league leaders, following a four-match winning streak which included East Bengal and Mohun Bagan among their scalps. 

Despite languishing towards the bottom of the league table, Customs are no pushovers. They have taken points off teams from the top half of the table – Mohammedan, Mohun Bagan, and Bhawanipore. 

Customs went ahead in the 27th minute through Eze Stanley Ifeanyi and held on to the lead until the break. Peerless drew parity in the 67th minute, Ansumana Kromah scoring his ninth of the league.

Eze Stanley Ifeanyi scored two minutes later and Customs were heading towards their first victory of the campaign. However, Ansumana Kromah held his nerves to convert the penalty and put Peerless’s title bid back on track. 

Peerless lead the league table with 14 points from seven matches. Up next is the top of the table clash against Bhawanipore Club. 

Bhawanipore come from behind to hold East Bengal

Bhawanipore came from behind back twice to hold East Bengal to a 2-2 draw at the Kalyani Stadium. Both clubs were locked on 13 points at the start of the match and had the opportunity to go top.

Pintu Mahata put East Bengal ahead in the 6th minute with a piledriver from 25 yards. The Red & Gold dominated the half but could not add to their 1-0 lead at the break. 

Bhawanipore equalized in the 58th minute. Beton Kamo Bayi finishing off a counter-attack after Lalrindika Ralte lost the ball in the midfield.

In the 83rd minute, East Bengal appeared to have won the match. Borja Gomez heading in Jaime Santos Colado’s free-kick from the right. 

Bhawanipore cut short the celebrations of the Kolkata giants in the next minute. Jaganath Saha curled in a shot into the top corner to leave East Bengal Lalthuammawia Ralte with little chance to save. 

In the next round, Bhawanipore (14 points from eight matches) and will face Peerless at the Barasat Stadium, while East Bengal (14 points from eight matches) and will host Rainbow AC.

CFL Premier Division A Table

After all the teams in the league stage play each other once, the top three teams will go into the super league stage where they will join Mohammedan SC, East Bengal FC and ATK Mohun Bagan. The team with the highest points after the super league stage will be crowned Champions.
1Mohammedan SC4310101019
2Bhawanipore FC42117752
3Aryan Club4121546-2
4East Bengal FC4031324-2
5Kidderpore SC4013129-7
6ATK Mohun Bagan (withdrawn)
1Bhawanipore FC107212318711
2Aryan Club105321815114
3Railway FC105321814113
4Calcutta Customs104421619154
5BSS Sporting Club10433151495
6Kidderpore SC943215981
7United Sports Club94231415114
8George Telegraph SC1022681218-6
9Southern Samity82157811-3
10Peerless SC1014571120-9
11Tollygunge Agragami1003731024-14
Super-sub: Mohun Bagan head coach, Kibu Vicuna, provides instructions to Subha Ghosh in the Calcutta Premier Division A League fixture between Mohun Bagan AC and Rainbow AC.
Photo Courtesy: @Mohun_Bagan

Mariners beat off-color Rainbow

A header by substitute Subha Ghosh helped Mohun Bagan beat Rainbow AC 1-0 at the Kalyani Stadium. 

After a slow start, Mohun Bagan grew into the game and should have taken the lead at the half-hour mark. VP Suhair bundling a chance much to the dismay of his teammates.

In the 65th minute, substitute Subha Ghosh beat his marker and timed his jump to perfection to head in Beitia’s corner.

The Mohun Bagan faithful celebrated wildly at the Kalyani Stadium, which staged its first Calcutta Premier Division match under lights.   

Mohun Bagan is in fourth place with 14 points from eight matches. They face Mohammedan Sporting at the Salt Lake Stadium in the next round.

Kouassi authors Mohammedan’s narrow win

Mohammedan Sporting Club returned to winning ways in Calcutta Premier Division ‘A’ when they beat BSS Sporting Club 1-0 at the Mohammedan Sporting Ground.

The match was a tight – at times scrappy – contest. Although dominant, the Black Panthers couldn’t get behind the well-organized BSS defensive line.

The patience of the Mohammedan faithful was rewarded two minutes into injury time. Arthur Kouassi took his chance well following a cross by Satyam Sharma from the corner to snatch a narrow win.

Following the win, Mohammedan SC moved into fourth place with 13 points from 8 matches and will next face Mohun Bagan in a crucial encounter.

Stalemate between George Telegraph and Southern Samity

George Telegraph and Southern Samity played out a goalless draw at the Gayeshpur Stadium.  

Coming into the match, George Telegraph were on 12 points with an opportunity to leapfrog Peerless. 

Despite dominating the match, George Telegraph could not convert their chances. Southern Samity defended stubbornly, including a couple of with goalline clearances, rendered the match goalless.

Southern Samity are on eighth place with seven points, while George Telegraph are on sixth place with 13 points. 

However, they do have a match in hand and face BSS Sporting Club and Calcutta Customs – two teams that are battling relegation. 

Be First to Comment

Leave a Reply

Indian Football: All Things Considered
%d bloggers like this: