Press "Enter" to skip to content

CFL 2019: Calcutta Premier Division A Roundup: Week 3

Mohammedan Sporting Club and Southern Samity FC played out a 1-1 draw at the Mohammedan Sporting Ground in the Calcutta Football League.
Photo Courtesy: Mohammedan Sporting India.

Beton Kamo fires Bhowanipore FC to the top of the table, while Mohun Bagan and East Bengal languish at the bottom of the Calcutta Football League Premier Division A table.  Mohammedan Sporting played out an ill-tempered draw against Southern Samity.

Kamo at the double

Bhowanpore FC regained the top spot with a 2-0 win over Southern Samity at the Barasat Stadium.  Star striker Beton Kamo scored both goals to take his personal tally to seven goals in four matches to take his team to 10 points.

After three draws, this was the first loss for Southern Samity  especially after their eventful match against Mohammedan Sporting.

Mohammedan SC and Southern Samity split points in ill-tempered match

Earlier in the week, Southern Samity was heading to a famous victory over Mohammedan SC at the MSC Ground. Six minutes into injury time Arthur Kouassi struck to salvage a draw. 

Kalu Ogba’s header gave Southern Samity the lead in the in the 17th minute. The visitors was clearly the better team in the first half. However, midway through the second half, Mohammedan SC’s appeal for a penalty was denied by the referee Debashish Mandi. 

The home fans reacted by throwing bottles and other projectiles on the field forcing the referee to stop play. Owing to the distuption, the referee added 11 minutes of injury time – much to the chagrin of the Southern Samity team. The mood was worsened when the Mohammedan equalizer was scored in the 96th minute. 

FIR lodged against Southern Samity player

At the final whistle, Southern Samity player, Shyam Mondal verbally attacked the referee Debashish Mandi over the additional 11 minutes of extra time. The referee flashed the red card to the player who spent the match on the bench. The player in turn reacted to the sending off by slapping the official. 

The Kolkata police has registered a case against Mondal following a written complaint from Mandi. 

CFL Premier Division Table

26 teams have been split into two groups. After a single leg round robin, the top three teams from each group will enter the Super Six which will be the championship round.
1Mohammedan SC17142144461135
2East Bengal FC1410313340931
3Diamond Harbour FC1410223229722
4Bhawanipore FC1383227241014
5Kidderpore SC15816251729-12
6Mohun Bagan1373324301515
1Diamond Harbour FC129212926521
2Mohammedan SC129212933924
3Mohun Bagan1273224301317
4Kalighat Milan Sangha FC127322421813
5Army Red125612118117
6Peerless SC125522022913
7United Sports Club126151925817
8Southern Samity12435151417-3
9Tollygunge Agragami122288928-19
10Pathachakra FC1214771328-15
11Calcutta FC121477838-30
12Food Corporation of India121386832-24
13Dalhousie AC120484829-21
1East Bengal FC129303029623
2Bhawanipore FC128312723815
3Kidderpore SC128132516115
4Aryan Club1280424281216
5Calcutta Customs126151913130
6ASOS Rainbow AC125251711101
7Wari AC12516161623-7
8Railway FC12336121221-9
9BSS Sporting Club12255111214-2
10George Telegraph SC12327111119-8
11Eastern Railway FC12327111626-10
12Police AC12318101022-12
13West Bengal Police1222881224-12

Calcutta Customs deny Mohun Bagan

On the eve of the Independence Day, Calcutta Customs scored late to snatch a point off Mohun Bagan.

A 90th minute strike by Stanley helped Calcutta Customs earn a 1-1 draw against the defending champions who lost 0-3 in their CFL opener to Peerless SC.

Mohun Bagan took the lead via a Fran Gonzalez strike in the 21st minute.

But it was all downhill for the green and maroon brigade from there on as they missed the services of Lalchhawnkima after an hour”s play as the defender was sent off following his foul on Philip.

Customs were also down a man when Debayan Saha was booked for a second yellow card, resulting in a red in the 84th minute.

Stanley’s shot off an Amit Chakraborty corner got the better of Mohun Bagan goalkeeper Shankar Roy in the dying minutes of the game as both teams shared the spoils.

Later in the week, Calcutta Customs and Rainbow AC played out a 1-1 draw at the Howrah stadium. Philip Adjah and Kazim scoring for their respective teams.

Kalighat and Aryan split points; Peerless-BSS match abandoned

Kalighat Milan Sangha and Aryan Club played out a 2-2 draw at the Mohammedan Sporting Ground. 

The match between Peerless SC and BSS Sporting Club at Gayeshpur Stadium had to be abandoned due to heavy rain and water logging.  The match was locked at 1-1 in the second half. 

It must be frustrating time for BSS Sporting, as the earlier fixture against East Bengal had to be rescheduled owing to the Durand Cup commitments for the Kolkata giants. 

Tough road ahead for BSS Sporting Club

The next round of fixtures will take place between August 25th and 31st. BSS Sporting will have their task cut out as their rescheduled match against East Bengal will take place on the 25th. Up next is Mohun Bagan, who hope to pick up their first win of the campaign. The newcomers will end the week against table-toppers, Bhowanipore FC.

East Bengal will also face Aryan Club in the upcoming round, while Mohammedan SC will face Rainbow AC before encountering the unbeaten George Telegraph. 

Aryan Club-Rainbow AC and Peerless-Kalighat Milan Sangha FC are the other two matches in the round.

Be First to Comment

Leave a Reply

Indian Football: All Things Considered
%d bloggers like this: