Press "Enter" to skip to content

CFL 2019: Calcutta Premier Division A Roundup: Week 2

Drenched: Mohammedan SC and Aryan Club played out a 1-1 draw in the 2019 CFL Premier Division A match.
Photo Courtesy:

East Bengal, Mohun Bagan, and Mohammedan SC might be the most celebrated teams in Kolkata, but it is George Telegraph SC who stole the limelight with two sterling displays in the second week of the Calcutta Football League table. 

Playing their opening fixtures in the Calcutta Football League – Premier Division A, the three Kolkata giants failed to win their matches.

Justice for George

George Telegraph SC’s Justice Morgan scored late in injury time to beat East Bengal 1-0 at the East Bengal ground. A counter-attack in the fourth minute of added time allowed the Nigerian to slot past Rakshit Dagar and silence the vociferous home crowd. 

For the readers who are unfamiliar with Kolkata football, George Telegraph is an institution.

For real though. One can obtain a degree in electronics, mobile repairing, beauty & wellness, and paramedical science among others.  

Back to the football. Coming off a 6-0 win the in the Durand Cup, East Bengal’s team comprised mainly of reserve players. However, the Red & Gold youth was thwarted by the resolute George Telegraph backline led by the former Mohun Bagan man, Aniyiche Echezona. In the end it was the former Aizawl FC striker who won scored the decisive goal to take George Telegraph to the top of the table with nine points in three matches. 

George’s Sunday Best

Earlier in the week, Justice’s striker partner, Joel Sunday, scored the lone goal against Kalighat MS to ensure a 1-0 win at the Gayeshpur Stadium. A freekick from outside the box curled around the Kalighat wall and beat the opposition goalie. 

CFL Premier Division Table

26 teams have been split into two groups. After a single leg round robin, the top three teams from each group will enter the Super Six which will be the championship round.
1Mohammedan SC17142144461135
2East Bengal FC15113136441034
3Diamond Harbour FC16103333321319
4Bhawanipore FC1484228261214
5Kidderpore SC15816251729-12
6Mohun Bagan1373324301515
1Pathachakra FC19658233436-2
2George Telegraph SC196492232275
3Police AC19649222233-11
4Eastern Railway FC19559202333-10
5Dalhousie AC19379161736-19
7West Bengal Police193313121839-21
8Calcutta FC191810111650-34
1Diamond Harbour FC129212926521
2Mohammedan SC129212933924
3Mohun Bagan1273224301317
4Kalighat Milan Sangha FC127322421813
5Army Red125612118117
6Peerless SC125522022913
7United Sports Club126151925817
8Southern Samity12435151417-3
9Tollygunge Agragami122288928-19
10Pathachakra FC1214771328-15
11Calcutta FC121477838-30
12Food Corporation of India121386832-24
13Dalhousie AC120484829-21
1East Bengal FC129303029623
2Bhawanipore FC128312723815
3Kidderpore SC128132516115
4Aryan Club1280424281216
5Calcutta Customs126151913130
6ASOS Rainbow AC125251711101
7Wari AC12516161623-7
8Railway FC12336121221-9
9BSS Sporting Club12255111214-2
10George Telegraph SC12327111119-8
11Eastern Railway FC12327111626-10
12Police AC12318101022-12
13West Bengal Police1222881224-12

Peerless display by Kromah

A brace by Ansumana Kromah helped last year’s runners-up, Peerless, defeat defending champions Mohun Bagan 3-0 at the Mohun Bagan ground.

The home team went on the backfoot when Liberian striker, Kromah, opened the scoring for Peerless in the 21st minute. The former Mohun Bagan man proceeded to wrap up a brilliant display with his involvement in the second and third goal.

In the 77th minute, Kromah laid the ball for Lakshmikanta Mandi. The substitute promptly lobbed the ball over an onrushing Shilton Paul to make it 2-0 for the visitors. The very next minute, the Mohun Bagan goalie gifted the third goal with a blotched clearance. The Liberian slotted in the third goal of the match to dash all hopes of a comeback.

Mohun Bagan’s day was summed up in stoppage time when Peerless goalkeeper, James Kithan, saved Salva Chamorro’s effort from the penalty spot.

After the match, Kromah said: “When I score against Bagan, I am always sad. I love Bagan, love the fans… I am happy that my team won, but I’m also sad for Bagan.”

A consummate professional right there.

Aryans keep Mohammedans at bay

In a match up that would have left a history afficianano absolutely flummoxed, Mohammedan failed to beat Aryan.

Playing their opening fixture in the rain, the conditions were not condusive for good football. However, it was the Dharmatala-based club went ahead in the 11th minute. A counter attack resulted in Aryan Club’s Nigerian striker, Kuti Ademola, slotting the ball past Mohammedan’s keeper, Moniruzzaman Ansari.

Three minutes later, the Kolkata giants equalized. Midfielder Tirthankar Sarkar’s corner kick caught everyone off-guard as the ball sailed straight into the net from the corner flag.

Aryan Club continued to look dangerous on the counter, but both the defences managed to minimize their mistakes in order to share the points. 

Customs keep Bhowanipore from moving forward

Bhawanipore FC were held to a 1-1 draw against Calcutta Customs. The table toppers from the first week went ahead courtesy a successful spotkick by Beton Kamo. The Ivorian leads the goalscoring charts with his fifth goal.

However, the government-based club had the services of their Nigerian recruit, Eze Stanley Ifeanyi. Customs has snuck in recruited as many as three foreign recruits in their team.

Stanley scored his second goal in as many matches and enabled his team to register their first points in the table. Meanwhile, Bhawanipore remain unbeaten in second place with seven points.

Be First to Comment

Leave a Reply

Indian Football: All Things Considered
%d bloggers like this: