Press "Enter" to skip to content

Mizoram Premier League 2019: Semifinal 2nd Leg Roundup

Mizoram Premier League 2019 Semifinal 2nd Leg
It’s Electrifying! Players and staff of Electric Veng FC celebrate after the penalty shootout win in the semifinals of the Mizoram Premier League.
Photo Courtesy: Mizoram Football Association

Electric Veng FC will compete in their first-ever Mizoram Premier League finals against Aizawl FC. 

A 5-4 win penalty shootout win over last year’s runners up, Chhinga Veng FC, ensured that the east Aizawl club went one up against their neighbors. 

Aizawl FC completed a 2-1 aggregate win over Chanmari FC to challenge for their fourth Mizoram Premier League title on December 14. 

Lalmuansanga the hero as Electric Veng enter MPL finals

FULL TIME: Electric Veng FC 1-1 Chhinga Veng FC
Electric Veng FC: (Ramhlunchhunga 4′); Chhinga Veng FC (MC Malsawmzuala 71′)

Electric Veng FC sealed their first-ever place in the Mizoram Premier League final as they beat former champions Chhinga Veng FC in a 5-4 penalty shootout at the Rajiv Gandhi Stadium, Aizawl.

The two sides had played out a goalless draw in the first leg. The East Aizawl neighbors 
Goalkeeper Lalmuansanga was the hero for Electric Veng FC as he saved two spot-kicks in the shootout.

The match started with Electric Veng taking an early advantage. Ramhlunchhunga pounced on an error from the Chhinga Veng backline to make it 1-0 in the fourth minute.

Minutes before the break Electric Veng FC went down to 10 men. Captain Lalrammawia earning a second yellow card for reacting against Vanlalzuidika.

In the second half, Chhinga Veng FC had to break down the resolute 10-man defensive setup of Electric Veng. In the 73rd minute scored the equalizer through the league’s top-scorer, MC Malsawmzuala.

The back to the wall approach from the 10 men resulted in a 1-1 draw after 90 minutes.  It was time for a penalty shoot-out. 

Mizoram Premier League 2019 Semifinal 2nd Leg
Mizoram Premier League top-scorer, MC Malsawmzuala, scores the equalizer against Electric Veng. Photo Courtesy: Mizoram Premier League

Shoot-out and a sudden death

Jacob Lalrawngbawla scored for Electric Veng. MC Malsawmzuala cooly slotted his for Chhinga Veng.

Ramhlunchhunga netted for Electric Veng. F. Zosangliana saw his effort saved by Lalmuansanga. 2-1 after two penalties each.

C. Lalnunmawia and Lalengmawia subsequently scored for Electric Veng with Lalsawmzela and Lalmawizuala did the same for Chhinga Veng.  4-3 after four penalties.

K. Lalmalsawma stepped up to seal the victory for Electric Veng, but Dharminder Guru silenced the Electric Veng faithful with a save of his own.

Thasiama stepped up to make it 4-4 and it was time for the sudden death.

Rorelliana converted his spot-kick to help Electric Veng breathe easy. 

Then came the moment when Lalmuansanga sent the Electric Veng team into a state of delirium when he parried away Silvana R. Lalruatkima’s effort to put his team into their first-ever MPL final.

Aizawl keep Chanmari at arm’s length to enter the finals

FULL TIME: Aizawl FC 1-1 Chanmari FC
Chanmari FC (David Laltlansanga 15′); Aizawl FC: (Rochharzela 8′)

Aizawl FC booked their place in the finals following a 1-1 draw against Chanmari in the second leg of the MPL semifinals. 

Having won the first leg 1-0, courtesy an Isak Vanlalruatfela goal, the I-League team shot into the lead in the second leg within eight minutes. 

Rochharzela, after some good play by Lalremsanga, found the back of the net to give Aizawl the advantage. 

Chanmari struck back within seven minutes. David Laltlansanga found some space in the box and the midfielder obliged by placing the ball beyond the reach of Lalremruata. 

Rochharzela (#7) shot Aizawl FC into an early lead.
Photo Courtesy: Mizoram Premier League

1-1 in 15 minutes, Aizawl leading 2-1 in aggregate. 

The second goal evaded Chanmari as MS Dawngliana and Lalrammuanpuia could not make the most of the chances presented to them. 

The second half was controlled by Aizawl with Alfred Jayran  marshalling the midfield. 

The scoreline remained unchanged after 90 minutes and Aizawl will aim to defend their title on the 14th of December.

Be First to Comment

Leave a Reply

Indian Football: All Things Considered
%d bloggers like this: