Press "Enter" to skip to content

New Rules for the eighth season (2021-22) of the Indian Super League (ISL)

New Rules for the eighth season (2021-22) of the Indian Super League (ISL)
Source: ISL Media

Here are the new rules for the 2021-22 season of the Indian Super League (ISL). The eighth season of the Indian Super League will kick off on November 19th and the final will be played on March 20, 2022 (Source: Marcus).


There can be a maximum of four foreign players in the Playing XI and six in the squad. This essentially translates to a minimum of seven Indian players on the pitch.

Out of the six foreign players, one player has to be from a member nation of the Asian Football Confederation (AFC).


ISL sides need to have two developmental players in the match day team and a minimum of four players in the squad.


A maximum of 35 players can be registered into the squad which should contain a minimum of three goalkeepers.

The salary cap for each team is fixed at 16.5 crore rupees – however, player loans, transfer fees and marquee signings will not be part of the salary cap allotment.

This post will be updated as and when more details are available.

For rules from the previous season of the ISL – most of which should apply for the upcoming season as well, please click here.


Fatorda: Mumbai City FC, ATK Mohun Bagan and NorthEast United FC.

Bambolim: FC Goa, Hyderabad FC, Jamshedpur FC and Bengaluru FC.

Vasco: Chennaiyin FC, SC East Bengal, Kerala Blasters and Odisha FC.

Source: Marcus

Be First to Comment

Leave a Reply

%d bloggers like this: